World Series Hockey Logo

World Series Hockey announced

The inaugural edition of the World Series Hockey organised by the Indian Hockey Federation (IHF) will have 176 international players.
The tournament, which will have eight city-based teams, will be held from December 15 to January 22 2011. The players will be allocated to the teams based on the internationally accepted and practiced ‘Draft’ system. The league will comprise of eight teams and players have signed contracts for the next three years.

Nimbus Sport, the marketing agency for the Indian Hockey Federation (IHF), has announced its plans to invest Rs 2.5 billion (US$56.5 million) in the inaugural competition.

World Series Hockey was conceived with the objective of reinvigorating the sport of Hockey in India and creating a financially self sustaining ecosystem for Hockey to thrive and grow to become the “sport of choice” for young Indians.

International players so far confirmed for the competition include:

  • Rehan Butt from Pakistan
  • Lucas Vila from Argentina
  • Brent Livermore from Australia
  • Rodrigo Garza from Spain
This entry was posted in Hockey News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply